I have the great good fortune to be a subscriber to Michel Fortin’s blog, where he recently took Wordpress to task for persecuting two popular tutorial sites offering first-rate video tutorials about Wordpress.
Their initial complaint concerned the use of the word “Wordpress” in the domain names of the sites, WordpressTutorials.com and WordpressVideos.com. Pardon me for being so presumptuous as to say something, but isn’t that actually a descriptive term rather than a trademark infringement?
There’s a very interesting twist to all this too. Wordpress, by its own admission, sent only two notices to cease and desist , even though they admitted being aware that scammy spammy sites legitimately abusing Wordpress’ good name existed?
Guess who received those notices?
One more thing…Wordpress also admitted that they plan to launch a set of their own video tutorials shortly. Hmmmm. Can you say “preemptive restraint of trade”??
This is a Wordpress blog. I like having a Worpress blog. I also plan to subscribe to WordpressTutorials.com based on several recommendations from persons I trust and respect.
As for Wordpress themselves, I prescribe a chill pill.


0 responses so far ↓
There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.
Leave a Comment